Speaking of news papers

… Speaking of news papers (see post below) I must admit I find it so hard and challenging to read the English news papers. Not because of the language but because of the layout, design and typography. I find it so hard seeing which picture goes to which heading and text, what to read and what not to read. I can’t see the structure!

Have you noticed this as well?

Here are some Swedish news papers. I also think it would be fun to see how the papers look where you’re from.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Speaking of news papers

  1. That’s very interesting, I got The Sunday Telegraph today and was sooo annoyed with it because of the size! I was fighting with it on the sofa but had to move over to the table, which was not very enjoyable either. The broadsheet, when opened, is 75cm x 57cm. What a size! Not designed to be an enjoyable reading!

  2. Yeah, I remember when my local paper used to be broadsheet format. So hard to handle. You couldn’t bring it with you on the train or anything. I think they changed it to tabloid size like about 10-15 years ago. All news papers back home moved to the smaller format at that time. I think it’s because the news paper moved from peoples breakfast tables to planes, trains, subways.

  3. Well, not all english newspaper has bad layout. For example, the Financial Times is conscious with choice of typeface and layout. The Guardian is always revamping themselves. I really enjoyed looking at swedish newspaper you posted. Nice layout. White spaces make a lot of difference.

Leave a comment